Decoratin’

12 Oct

I don’t pretend to have a good style, but I certainly have a style. When I was a kid, my mom often told me my clothes didn’t match. The thing was, to me, they kind of did. Fortunately or unfortunately, I take the same approach to decorating my new place. Although I really admire those calm, serene apartments that are all beige and grey and tidy and immaculate, that is so far from anything I could ever maintain. Sure, it would be nice to feel like I’m on vacation all the time, but that’s not my life at all. I want my apartment to reflect my life and my personality, which means I want it to be bright and colorful and kind of rough around the edges and maybe a little bit dirty and also just sort of weird.

Much as I’d like to just plop an Anthropolgie window display in here and call it a day, my nonexistent budget doesn’t really allow for that. That means I’m stuck with thrift stores, the Target clearance aisle, stuff my mom buys for me at auctions, and things I already own. Who wants to accompany me on this thrifty decorating journey? You do? Fantastic! If you said you don’t, I’m sorry, I can’t actually hear you through the computer screen and your refusal to go along with me is going to really derail the direction of this post, so here we gooooooooo…

First things first, I bought this unicorn painting at a Goodwill several years ago for 70 cents. To this day, it remains one of the best purchases I’ve ever made. I hung it at (a peeing dude’s) eye level over the toilet, so that anyone who is so lucky to use my bathroom will be reminded that a truly magnificent lady lives here.

I had these bird paintings I bought at T.J. Maxx back when I moved into my last (oh so wood paneled) place. I know, I know, put a bird on it.

Whatever, guys. Anyway, the gold frames were super not doing it for me, so you know what that means….PAINT TIME!!! Painting stuff is the easiest way to feel creative without really doing anything. I’d recommend it.

I chose blue and yellow, because those are My Colors.

This is so much more exciting to me than a gold frame. Am I just too easily excited? We all know the answer is yes.

After seeing this fall garland tutorial on one of my favorite crafty blogs (seriously, check it out. If it doesn’t cheer you up and make you feel like getting out your glue gun/sewing machine/pinking shears, then you have no heart), I got some felt and stitched it up while watching Parks and Rec and New Girl on Hulu. Ta-da! Fall mantel!

That mirror won’t be propped up there forever. I promise.

Lastly, the best decoration by far is a vase of lovely flowers in My Signature Color from my boof.

4 Responses to “Decoratin’”

  1. Jayne October 12, 2011 at 8:51 pm #

    I love your style!! It is fun, pretty, girlie, vintage, and unique. Your decorating looks FABULOUS! I can’t wait to see your place.

    • heykerryann October 12, 2011 at 9:44 pm #

      :) Thanks! You’re too nice to me. I can’t wait for you to see it either…just a couple of weeks! Long live the Unsexy Costume Club!

  2. Lauren October 13, 2011 at 12:47 am #

    The place is looking excellent, and I liked your subtle Beyonce reference.

    • heykerryann October 13, 2011 at 11:30 pm #

      I hoped someone would get it. I should have known you would.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 82 other followers

