Why We Broke Up by Daniel Handler and Maira Kalman

20 Feb


Even though I’ll be writing more in-depth about this book in the near future, I feel a duty to let you know about it now, because I don’t want you to go through another second of your life without having read it.
Believe it or not, it actually didn’t make me cry, even though I felt on the verge of dissolving into sobs the entire time I read it. And I cry a lot when I read, like this weekend when I finished a book and then I laid down on the couch to cry while my boyfriend watched TV, and he put his hand on my hand and said, “Do books always affect you this way?” because he’d really only seen me cry over a book once, and that was the New Year’s Eve 2010/Julie Orringer Incident. The answer is yes. Books do always affect me this way.

Go read this book. It’s one of the truest books I’ve ever read.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 86 other followers

