Lady Show: The Conversation

3 May

I think I might have found my new favorite show. I love nothing more than ladies talkin’ about bein’ ladies (check out my blog title for proof), and that’s exactly what The Conversation is. Host/Photographer/Wife/Mom/Superwoman Amanda de Cadenet interviews women about topics that are actually interesting. She doesn’t ask them about whatever movie they’re working on or fluff like that. Instead, she talks to Jane Fonda about feeling whole without a man, or to Gwyneth Paltrow about postpartum depression, or to Sarah Silverman about the importance of female camaraderie, or to Zoe Saldana about the decision to have children. This is the show for you if you miss Oprah but also you wish Oprah was more down to Earth. Amanda de Cadenet is smart, funny, and delightful, even if she doesn’t hide gifts under her studio audience’s chairs (or have a studio audience).

This show is amazing because, unlike other women’s shows with similar titles (The View, The Talk), it actually focuses on real conversations between women about their lives. Not the “She can do it all, and so can you!” pseudo-inspirational bullshit we’ve come to expect from our magazines and television shows, but actual real lives. It is reassuring for me to realize that Gwyneth Paltrow doesn’t have all of her shit together all the time, or that Jane Fonda is still working some things out at 70. That’s real life!

Also you learn that Jane Fonda’s fake knee makes certain sex positions uncomfortable. The more you know!

Watch the first episode of The Conversation here! If you’ve seen it, let me know what you think!

9 Responses to “Lady Show: The Conversation”

  1. Shannon May 3, 2012 at 7:32 am #

    I’m so glad I found your blog because I woke up so early today, with hours to spare before class, so I had time time to watch the show. I loved how natural it is, I never watch the view or anything like that because those woman always seem to be yelling at each other. How classy and lovely is Gwyneth Paltrow? I love her!

    • heykerryann May 5, 2012 at 10:21 am #

      I know a lot of people rag on G. Pal, but I can’t help it, I love her!

  2. julie May 4, 2012 at 2:11 am #

    wow, that was wonderful– super-frickin-awesome to see sarah silverman say “the worst thing that can happen, for people who don’t want women to be strong, is that we help each other and be a force”. . . and zoe saldana talking about men and equality. . . it was all intriguing, thanks for sharing!

    • heykerryann May 5, 2012 at 10:21 am #

      The second episode is super-great, too!

  3. Lilly May 10, 2012 at 6:32 pm #

    I agree with you!! The Conversation is way more real than any of the other shows/articles we typically see about being a woman and what that means. Before this show I didn’t know that so many women felt the way I did. I am comforted by how normal Amanda and her guests are and wish I ever felt “safe”/comfortable revealing my vulnerabilities.Being a woman gets harder and harder and I like knowing that I’m not the only one who is scared or overwhelmed:)

    • heykerryann May 11, 2012 at 8:05 am #

      It really is a special show! it’s so comforting to realize that ALL women have some insecurities and concerns, and I’m not some lone weirdo.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Today on The Conversation! « Welcome to Ladyville - May 8, 2012

    [...] been talking a lot about how much I L-O-V-E The Conversation, Amanda de Cadenet’s fabulous interview show. The Conversation is also a website, full of [...]

  2. Lady Inspiration: Rita Wilson « Welcome to Ladyville - May 10, 2012

    [...] “I do think you have to scare yourself. That’s where your creativity or your growth comes from. Scaring yourself, challenging yourself, taking those risks, and not caring about what anyone thinks.” -Rita Wilson on the second episode of The Conversation, which is just as good as the first! [...]

  3. keeping me company » julie kesti - art-by-mail and love notes from shanghai! - juliekesti.com - May 14, 2012

    [...] > The Conversation — this is actually a new TV show, but I watch it online when the internet is feeling strong.  I encourage you to take a look.  It’s filled with honest conversations about women’s lives–guest so far have included Gwyneth Paltrow, Lady Gaga, Jane Fonda, and Sarah Silverman.  It features famous women, but talking about struggles many women experience related to work, family, bodies, etc. I read about it on Welcome to Ladyville. [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 86 other followers

